Darryl Smith @ Radioactive Networks

Monday, February 27, 2006

I just had a telemarketing call from 'Lifestyle Dynamics' which tried to sell me accomadation vouchers. The call was from overseas somewhere... Not sure exactly where... They said that they were a 'Fortune 500' company on the Australian Stock Exchange. I was not sure that there was such a thing on the ASX... A fortune 500 company would be one of the smallest businesses on the Australian Stock Exchange... Needless to say I did not buy anything from them...

7 Comments:

Blogger Demosthenes said...

I just had a call from them too, and I found this on the Net to see if it was a scam. They told me I had been 'randomly selected' and insisted that I hand over $109 over the phone right away and no I could not call them back this offer can not last, etc etc etc. They said they were from Sydney which was rubbish, it was clearly an Indian call centre. I have searched high and wide, across ASIC, ASX, Google news, newspaper archives, you name it. And all I can find is that they are registered as a private (NOT A stock listed company) in Sydney and no other information at all. Registered since around 2005. Smells dodgy to me. Man were they pushy! I said call me back on Monday after I have had a chance to check if they are a known scam. I don't think I will sign up, information is too light on the ground.

8:29 PM  
Blogger CaughtThemOut said...

I also recieved a call from Lifestyle Dynamics (or Southern Momentum) or whatever else they choose to trade as. The Indian caller named Aaron said that they had over 200 properties in Australia, they were part of the Lifestyle dynamics group. If I paid $109 I would receive 5 vouchers to any property of my choice throughout Australia. I asked how much I had to pay once I arrive at my chosen destination. The little Curry Muncher said that there was nothing further to pay and that the rooms were free as they were building their client base. He said there were no catches. I asked for his number several times and finally got Lifestyle Dynamics North Sydney number 94604178 The receptionist told me that the rooms would be free if I had meals and beveridges at the select property otherwise there was accommodation charges. She was going to email their supervisor in India as they should not be telling bullshit!! The receptionist gave me their website www.lifestyledynamics.com.au/intropack which would explain their terms and conditions. I then contacted several properties on the list to discover it was far cheaper booking direct than going through Lifestyle RIP OFF Dynamics!

3:31 PM  
Blogger Gina said...

Oh yeah, just had a call from them as well. Asked if they had a website, which they do of course, and it looks lovely, but it reeks of a scam. There are unintelligible conditions on the 'so-called' free accommodation, which after 15 minutes I was still none-the wiser about, even after speaking to the 'manager'. I requested to see the conditions in writing, for them to email them to me, then I thought better of it. Goodness knows what enormous trail of spam would be inflicted on me. By the end of the call I was becoming quite irate and had to hang up. Definitely dodgy. Beware.

3:55 PM  
Blogger Darryl Smith said...

It is quite possible that the intent of this company is to get Credit Card details and then use them fraudulently. Either that, or steal your identity. Either way, stay away from these people.

If they were legit, they would not be calling people who were on the DO NOT CALL list. Remember people, you have the right to know the name of the company calling you, as well as the name of the company they are calling for.

4:04 PM  
Blogger Darryl Smith said...

This post has been removed by the author.

1:58 PM  
Blogger Darryl Smith said...

I just had a comment from 'VARUN' on this blog that I killed off. The entire posting was 'I found them very legitinamte ...infact they are good in terms of travel i am surprised how darrel can say that '.

Now, whoever this was, I suspect that they are trying to kill off blog entries against them. They did not get the spelling of my name correct, there are numerous spelling mistakes, and they did not address the issue of dodgy telemarketing calls which suggested that they were a listed company when in fact they are a private company.

The Terms and conditions for the web site say that I should not just have linked too them. OOps.

2:07 PM  
Blogger Darryl Smith said...

More investigation... The person who posted the comment is in New Delhi - they used the IP address 59.95.7.225. Actually it was four people. All the people connected today - 13-September.

Person 1: 12:32pm
Person 2: 13:51pm
Person 3: 13:53pm
Person 2: 13:57pm
Person 4: 14:01pm

Also, according to This, Lifestyle Dynamics is being investigated by the ACMA for violating the Do Not Call register

2:23 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home